Sarasota News Leader


Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 91 of 103

Incumbent Sarasota County Judge David Denkin has been reelected unopposed, Sarasota County Supervisor of Elections Kathy Dent announced this week. Denkin was the only candidate who qualified for the nonpartisan judicial seat by the noon qualifying deadline on May 2, a news release says. Pursuant to state statutes, Dent said in the release, "the name of an unopposed candidate for the office of circuit judge, county court judge or member of a school board shall not appear on any ballot and such candidate shall be deemed to have voted for himself or her- self at the general election." Twelfth Circuit judicial incumbent Judges Kimberly Bonner, Peter Dubensky, Deno Economou, Edward Nicholas, Andrew Owens Jr., Charles Roberts and Gilbert Smith Jr., have also been elected unopposed, the release reports. "Twelfth Circuit judicial can- didate Stephen Walker, who qualified for the seat being vacated by Robert McDonald Jr., is also deemed to have been elected unop- posed," the release adds. For a complete listing of 2014 offices up for election or retention, go to the Supervisor of Elections website, select "Election Information" from the main menu and click on the link to "2014 Offices." % SARASOTA COUNTY JUDICIAL CANDIDATES ELECTED UNOPPOSED Share stories by clicking the icon in the menubar and choosing to share via e-mail, post to Facebook or Twitter, or many other sharing options. QUICK TIP Don't have your own subscription to The Sarasota News Leader? Subscribe for FREE and receive a weekly notification when the latest issue is available online. FREE SUBSCRIPTION Sarasota News Leader May 9, 2014 Page 92

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Sarasota News Leader - 05/09/2014